You are here:Home>Senators & Members>Members>Hon Madubeko Josephat

Hon Madubeko Josephat

  • Affiliation: Zanu-PF
  • Chamber: National Assembly
  • Positions: Member of Parliament
  • Constituency: Gweru Rural
  • Gender: Male
Download Constituency Profile


Postal address:

Vungu Primary School Gweru

Business  numbers: (054)220012

Cell numbers: 0712 521 252

Marital Status: He is married with eight children.



Academic Achievement

  • He attended Vungu Primary School for Sub (A) in 1954 before moving to Lower Gweru Primary School for Sub (B) in 1955. He enrolled for standard 2 and 3 at Sikombingo School between 1958 and 1959. He moved to Lower Gwelo Mission in 1960 for Standard 4. He did standard 5 in 1963 at Sikombingo Secondary School but had to complete standard 6 at Vungu School in 1964.
  • Tertiary: He did the Rhodesia Junior certificate with CACC between 1966 and 1968. In 1973 he did Advanced Level City and Guilds at ZISCO Steel. He holds a National Certificate in Supervisory Management from ZISCO Training Centre obtained in 1986. He has Certificates in Internal Quality Audit and Quality Circles work involvement teams obtained from ZISCO in 1998.

Career in General

  • He worked at ZISCO in various positions from 1969 until his retirement in May 2001

Political History / Career

  • He began his political career while at school where he was involved in student demonstrations in the 1960s. He joined ZAPU in 1972 and was voted treasurer for Torwood branch. In 1973, he became a district committee for ZAPU. He joined ZANU (PF) in 1981 and was a secretaryfor Vachabvuma Cell in Redcliff. His home was attacked several times by UANC youths in the 1970s.

Parliamentary Career

  • He was elected Member of Parliament for Gweru Rural during the March 2005 general elections and served in the Portfolio Committees on Education, Sport and Culture and that of Health and Child Welfare. He was re-elected for the same constituency during the March, 2008 harmonised elections where he was in the portfolio committees that include Industry and Commerce, Education, Sports and Culture. He was re-elected again into Parliament in 2013 and serves in the Commitees for Mining and Energy, Industry, Youth Indeginization and Empowerment.